Upcoming Events

MJ Insurance is involved with industry, trade, volunteer and informational events throughout the year. Check out the events below to see where you can find us next!

WEBINAR: Mental Health in the Workplace
+

MENTAL HEALTH IN THE WORKPLACE

Thursday, May 14, 2020
2:00-3:00 PM ET
1:00-2:00 PM CT
11:00 AM-Noon PT

The short and long-term mental health effects of COVID-19 are a top concern for many, as are the physical consequences. According to the CDC, mental health disorders are among the most burdensome health concerns in the United States. Nearly 1 in 5 adults aged 18 or older (18.3% or 44.7 million people) reported suffering from a mental health condition in 2016, and 1 in 2 are at risk of developing one. And now with the outbreak of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), stress and anxiety are at an all-time high.

Poor mental health and stress can negatively affect an employee’s job performance and productivity, engagement with their work, communication with coworkers, and even their physical capability to function. Now more than ever, it is extremely important that employers build awareness and provide employees with resources to improve mental health and stress management.

Join Cynthia L. Reynolds, LCSW, LCAC of Reynolds and Associates Counseling as she provides practical guidance to employers on:

  • Navigating discussions surrounding mental health in the workplace
  • Common signs an employee needs mental health assistance
  • How to support employees in need of mental health services
  • What mental health resources may be available to employers
  • And more!

REGISTER

WEBINAR: Employer Alert! Regulators Make Big Changes to Benefit Plan Notice and Disclosure Deadlines Due to COVID-19 National Emergency
+

EMPLOYER ALERT! REGULATORS MAKE BIG CHANGES TO BENEFIT PLAN NOTICE AND DISCLOSURE DEADLINES DUE TO COVID-19 NATIONAL EMERGENCY

Thursday, May 21, 2020
3:00-4:00 PM EST
2:00-3:00 PM CST
1:00-2:00 PM MST
NOON-1:00 pm PST

The DOL and IRS have issued rules that extend several important benefits deadlines due to the COVID-19 national emergency.  The new rules extend the time frames for COBRA elections, COBRA payments, and HIPAA special enrollments. The DOL also issued Disaster Relief Notice 2020-01 which gives employers some flexibility in the timing of ERISA required disclosures. The extension of COBRA election and payment timelines means that eligible participants will be able to wait to elect COBRA for longer than the normal 60 day election period, and employers will not be permitted to terminate COBRA coverage due to nonpayment for an extended period of time. Deadlines for mid-year election change subject to the HIPAA special enrollment rules are also extended. We were planning to cover Medicare and employee benefits issues in this month’s compliance webinar, but due to these developments we will be covering these important rules instead, and will hold our Medicare webinar at a later date.

REGISTER

WEBINAR: Benefits During Break-In-Service, Leaves and Rehire Issues
+

Benefits During Breaks-in-Service, Leaves, and Rehire Issues

Thursday, June 25, 2020
2:00-3:00 PM EST
1:00-2:00 PM CST
Noon-1:00 PM MST
11:00 AM-NOON PST

Wouldn’t it be nice if employees never missed a day of work or ever took a leave! Until then (when pigs fly), one of the most difficult administrative issues employee benefits managers face is when employees have some kind of break-in-service that affects eligibility. Many different rules can apply in these circumstances. Employers may have to consider FMLA coverage requirements, ACA-related waiting periods and rehire rules, and more. Plan eligibility could even be different depending on if the employer is using the monthly measurement, or the look-back measurement method to define full-time status. In this webinar we will help you sort out how to handle these break-in-service situations.

REGISTER